The applicant must have NWU admission and must have served as the chairperson or sole head boy or head girl of the school's learner representative council during high school. The student applies through the NWU portal and must attach an official school testimonial or similar certificate. The current cycle and deadline must be confirmed before applying.
What it may cover
Funding and study level
The published 2026 value is a once-off R3,500 credit against the first-year tuition-fee account. It is not a full-cost bursary and does not state that accommodation, books or living costs are covered.
What to do
Prepare without using an old form
Check how this route worksAnnual route — confirm the current form. Old adverts and screenshots may have expired.
Compare the rules with your situationRead the short answer above one condition at a time. If a condition is unclear, ask the provider before sending documents.
Do not submit an old formUse the official provider route to look for a new call. Prepare the listed evidence, but do not send documents until the provider publishes a current application route.
Keep your records privateSave results, document lists, submitted forms and reference numbers that apply to you. Never share an OTP, password or banking PIN.
Direct answers
NWU Leadership Bursary questions
Who should check NWU Leadership Bursary?
The applicant must have NWU admission and must have served as the chairperson or sole head boy or head girl of the school's learner representative council during high school. The student applies through the NWU portal and must attach an official school testimonial or similar certificate. The current cycle and deadline must be confirmed before applying.
What can NWU Leadership Bursary pay for?
The published 2026 value is a once-off R3,500 credit against the first-year tuition-fee account. It is not a full-cost bursary and does not state that accommodation, books or living costs are covered.
Is NWU Leadership Bursary open now?
Annual route — confirm the current form. The official source was checked on 31 August 2026; confirm the live call before sending documents.