Disability applicants need recent medical evidence confirming a degenerating physical condition that impedes study. Orphan and foster-care applicants need both parents' death certificates, a foster-care court order or appropriate social-worker evidence. The route applies within the minimum period of a first qualification, excludes distance students under the published rules and requires the current portal instructions to be checked.
What it may cover
Funding and study level
The published award is 25% of tuition fees. It is partial support rather than full funding, and accommodation, books and living costs are not stated as covered. Continued allocation depends on the bursary conditions and available institutional funds.
What to do
Prepare without using an old form
Check how this route worksAnnual route — confirm the current form. Old adverts and screenshots may have expired.
Compare the rules with your situationRead the short answer above one condition at a time. If a condition is unclear, ask the provider before sending documents.
Do not submit an old formUse the official provider route to look for a new call. Prepare the listed evidence, but do not send documents until the provider publishes a current application route.
Keep your records privateSave results, document lists, submitted forms and reference numbers that apply to you. Never share an OTP, password or banking PIN.
Direct answers
NWU Disability, Orphan and Foster-Care Support Bursary questions
Who should check NWU Disability, Orphan and Foster-Care Support Bursary?
Disability applicants need recent medical evidence confirming a degenerating physical condition that impedes study. Orphan and foster-care applicants need both parents' death certificates, a foster-care court order or appropriate social-worker evidence. The route applies within the minimum period of a first qualification, excludes distance students under the published rules and requires the current portal instructions to be checked.
What can NWU Disability, Orphan and Foster-Care Support Bursary pay for?
The published award is 25% of tuition fees. It is partial support rather than full funding, and accommodation, books and living costs are not stated as covered. Continued allocation depends on the bursary conditions and available institutional funds.
Is NWU Disability, Orphan and Foster-Care Support Bursary open now?
Annual route — confirm the current form. The official source was checked on 31 August 2026; confirm the live call before sending documents.