Student funding

Rhodes Academic Merit Award 2026

Rhodes Academic Merit Award 2026: Rhodes automatically gives qualifying South African first-time undergraduate entrants a 2026 merit award based on final National Senior Certificate results. This page explains the official route without promising an award.

Evidence checked Rhodes UniversityAutomatic university consideration — no separate form
Short answer

The student must be South African, must be enrolling at Rhodes for the first time for an undergraduate degree and must have at least 47 Rhodes admission points in the final National Senior Certificate. International students are excluded. The award is reduced pro rata if the recipient withdraws during the academic year.

What it may cover

Funding and study level

The 2026 Rhodes Calendar states that awards range from R29,940 to the full tuition fee. It does not state that accommodation, meals, travel, books or living costs are included.

first undergraduate degreeeligible Rhodes undergraduate programmes

What to do

How the automatic award works

1

Check how this route worksAutomatic university consideration — no separate form. Old adverts and screenshots may have expired.

2

Compare the rules with your situationRead the short answer above one condition at a time. If a condition is unclear, ask the provider before sending documents.

3

Do not pay for a separate formApply for admission or register as required, keep your results and contact details current, and follow any evidence instruction in the short answer above.

4

Keep your records privateSave results, document lists, submitted forms and reference numbers that apply to you. Never share an OTP, password or banking PIN.

Direct answers

Rhodes Academic Merit Award 2026 questions

Who should check Rhodes Academic Merit Award 2026?

The student must be South African, must be enrolling at Rhodes for the first time for an undergraduate degree and must have at least 47 Rhodes admission points in the final National Senior Certificate. International students are excluded. The award is reduced pro rata if the recipient withdraws during the academic year.

What can Rhodes Academic Merit Award 2026 pay for?

The 2026 Rhodes Calendar states that awards range from R29,940 to the full tuition fee. It does not state that accommodation, meals, travel, books or living costs are included.

Is Rhodes Academic Merit Award 2026 open now?

Automatic university consideration — no separate form. The official source was checked on 31 August 2026; confirm the live call before sending documents.