Student funding

SMU merit award

SMU merit award: SMU's internal merit award gives qualifying first-time entering undergraduate students a substantial tuition waiver based on their final Grade 12 results, without presenting it as guaranteed general financial aid. This page explains the official route without promising an award.

Evidence checked Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences UniversityAutomatic university consideration — no separate form
Short answer

Applicants must be first-time entering students pursuing their first degree immediately after Grade 12 and achieve an average of at least 80% in the final examinations. SMU calculates the average from the six best subjects under the old curriculum or all subjects except Life Orientation under the National Senior Certificate curriculum.

What it may cover

Funding and study level

Qualifying students receive a 50% tuition-fee waiver under the university's published merit-award rules. Other study costs, accommodation and living expenses are not stated as part of this award and require separate funding.

first undergraduate degreeeligible SMU first-degree programmes

What to do

How the automatic award works

1

Check how this route worksAutomatic university consideration — no separate form. Old adverts and screenshots may have expired.

2

Compare the rules with your situationRead the short answer above one condition at a time. If a condition is unclear, ask the provider before sending documents.

3

Do not pay for a separate formApply for admission or register as required, keep your results and contact details current, and follow any evidence instruction in the short answer above.

4

Keep your records privateSave results, document lists, submitted forms and reference numbers that apply to you. Never share an OTP, password or banking PIN.

Direct answers

SMU First-Time Entering Student Merit Award questions

Who should check SMU First-Time Entering Student Merit Award?

Applicants must be first-time entering students pursuing their first degree immediately after Grade 12 and achieve an average of at least 80% in the final examinations. SMU calculates the average from the six best subjects under the old curriculum or all subjects except Life Orientation under the National Senior Certificate curriculum.

What can SMU First-Time Entering Student Merit Award pay for?

Qualifying students receive a 50% tuition-fee waiver under the university's published merit-award rules. Other study costs, accommodation and living expenses are not stated as part of this award and require separate funding.

Is SMU First-Time Entering Student Merit Award open now?

Automatic university consideration — no separate form. The official source was checked on 31 August 2026; confirm the live call before sending documents.