Local and mayoral study support

Municipal bursaries South Africa

Municipal bursaries South Africa can help with registration, tuition or local skills needs, but their application windows are short and old forms often remain online. This register only publishes records that were manually checked against official municipality sources.

257 municipalities screened225 websites reached13 records manually verified0 within a verified deadline2026-08-30 evidence check
Important

Every published deadline in this register has passed. Use the records to prepare for the next cycle and find the correct official office—not to send a late application.

Manually verified study-funding opportunities owned or officially promoted by current South African municipalities. A record describes the last verified cycle and must not be presented as open unless its status explicitly says so.

Verified local records

What was offered, who it was for, and what to do next

communities in Tsantsabane Local Municipality

Afrimat TVET Bursary for Tsantsabane communities

The municipality-posted 2026 notice did not state the benefit amount or full coverage schedule.

2026 call closed · deadline 2026-02-20
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 notice required residence in a Tsantsabane community, current registration or 2026 enrolment at a Northern Cape TVET college, a National Diploma or N-course field listed in the notice, and at least a 50% average in the previous study year.

What should I do now?

This was an external bursary promoted by the municipality and the deadline has passed. Recheck both the municipality's community notices and Afrimat before a future cycle.

Read the verified record
Bitou residents

Bitou Mayoral Partial Bursary 2026

A partial mayoral bursary; the published notice did not specify the award amount or complete coverage schedule.

2026 call closed · deadline 2026-02-20
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 programme was for students residing in Bitou who intended to study at a SAQA-accredited South African institution, with preference for engineering, science and water-related scarce skills. Applications required Grade 12 or current tertiary results, registration proof, certified identity documents, parents' income evidence or unemployment affidavits and a municipal-account proof of address.

What should I do now?

The 2026 closing time has passed. Do not email the old form. Monitor the official Bitou notice page or contact the Executive Mayor's office for the next annual round, and prepare the residence, income, registration and academic documents listed in the prior call.

Read the verified record
Buffalo City residents

Buffalo City Mayoral Bursary Fund 2026

The published 2026 advert did not state a fixed award value or complete coverage schedule.

2026 call closed · deadline 2025-10-31
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 fund was for South African citizens permanently living in Buffalo City, generally aged 14 to 35, pursuing undergraduate study in the advertised engineering, planning, science or finance fields. It required proof of residence and household income, recent academic records and minimum matric results in English and relevant mathematics, accounting or physical-science subjects, with preference for underprivileged applicants.

What should I do now?

The 2026 application period is closed. Recheck the official Bursary Fund document folder or a Buffalo City Youth Advisory Centre for the next form, and keep residence, income, identity and academic evidence ready.

Read the verified record
Cape Town residents

City of Cape Town External Bursary 2027

Registration, tuition or class and examination fees, with capped study-aid, transport and meal allowances under the published City scheme.

Published deadline passed · 2026-08-31
Who qualifies for 2027?

The published 2027 call is for Cape Town residents registered or provisionally accepted for full-time study at an accredited South African institution, including TVET colleges. Applicants may not already hold another form of financial assistance such as NSFAS, Grade 12 applicants need at least a 65% mid-year average, and the qualification must fall within the City's advertised scarce-skills list.

What should I do now?

Check the official City notice immediately. If it is still on or before 31 August 2026, download the 2027 form and submit it with the listed evidence to external.bursaries@capetown.gov.za or a named City walk-in centre. After the deadline, do not send a late application; recheck the next annual call.

The current City notice published on 17 August 2026 gives 31 August 2026 as the closing date. Always use the latest official notice because an older City Connect rendering displayed an earlier date.

Read the verified record
Elias Motsoaledi residents

Elias Motsoaledi Mayoral Bursary

Up to R10,000 toward study, tuition and/or registration fees in the published 2026 cycle.

2026 call closed · deadline 2026-01-09
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 notice targeted well-performing, financially needy matriculants who lived in Elias Motsoaledi and had provisional institutional acceptance. It requested certified identity documents, municipality-endorsed proof of residence, household income proof or an affidavit, recent results, and an acceptance letter.

What should I do now?

The published deadline has passed. Ask the Youth Coordinator or check the official public-notice area for the next call before submitting documents.

The notice's introductory and eligibility wording differs on institution type; the next call must be checked rather than assuming private institutions qualify.

Read the verified record
Emfuleni residents

Emfuleni Mayoral Bursary 2026

Registration and tuition fees, a laptop and books, with accommodation and food support for selected students under the published 2026 call.

2026 call closed · deadline 2025-11-28
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 advert invited Emfuleni Grade 12 learners entering their first year with at least a 60% average, local residence, proof of admission and household income no higher than R350,000 a year. It prioritised disadvantaged households and people on the municipal indigent database, and excluded students already approved for other bursary funding.

What should I do now?

Do not submit the old 2026 advert. Prepare the academic results, proof of residence, income evidence, school testimonial and admission letter, then check the official municipality site, its libraries or the Mayor's Office for the next application cycle.

Read the verified record
Eligible matriculants from the George municipal area

George Municipality External Bursary 2026

All or part of the total study cost, depending on the annual award and the successful applicant's bursary agreement.

2026 call closed · deadline 2025-10-07
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 advert invited current Grade 12 learners, people who completed matric in 2023 or 2024 at a school in the George municipal area, and returning George bursary recipients. Study had to relate to the local-government sector, household income could not exceed R350,000 a year, and scarce municipal skills received preference.

What should I do now?

The 2026 deadline has passed. Use the official Human Resources bursary area to watch for the next call, and prepare proof of matriculation in the George area, household income, institutional admission and the requested study-field information.

Read the verified record
Midvaal residents

Midvaal Mayoral Student Financial Aid

Registration assistance. The published notice did not state a fixed award amount.

2026 call closed · deadline 2026-01-23
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 notice was for Midvaal residents studying full time at public institutions. It required a student form, ward-councillor recommendation, certified identity documents, results, an institutional acceptance letter showing the registration amount and bank details, proof of residence, and household income evidence or an unemployment affidavit.

What should I do now?

Do not send a late application. Keep the documents ready and recheck the official page or Office of the Executive Mayor for the next annual window.

Read the verified record
Residents of the six Nkangala local municipalities

Nkangala District Municipality Bursary 2026

The published form did not state a fixed award amount and expressly excluded existing loans or historic student debt.

2026 call closed · deadline 2025-11-14
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 form was for South African citizens aged 17 to 35 living in Emakhazeni, Emalahleni, Victor Khanye, Thembisile Hani, Steve Tshwete or Dr JS Moroka. It required undergraduate public-institution study, household income not exceeding R180,000 a year, at least 60% for university applicants or 50% for TVET applicants, residence and income proof, identity documents and academic records.

What should I do now?

The deadline for the 2026 academic year passed. Keep the residence, household-income, identity, acceptance and academic evidence ready, and recheck the official Nkangala site or a participating local municipality before the next annual application window.

Read the verified record
Polokwane municipal residents from disadvantaged backgrounds

Polokwane External Bursary 2026

The application form allowed the municipality to set an award up to the relevant public-institution fees and did not promise a fixed amount.

2026 call closed · deadline 2025-12-05
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 opportunity was for South African citizens permanently living in Polokwane, from disadvantaged backgrounds, who were in or had passed Grade 12 and planned full-time study toward a first degree, national diploma or national N diploma at a recognised public institution. Applicants could not already benefit from another bursary and had to supply identity, academic, acceptance, residence and household-income evidence.

What should I do now?

The 2026 deadline has passed. Recheck the official Career Opportunities bursary section or municipal cluster offices for the next annual call, and keep the public-institution acceptance, local residence, household and academic evidence ready.

Read the verified record
Thulamela residents registered as indigent

Thulamela Mayor's Bursary Fund 2026

The official 2026 application form did not state a fixed award amount or complete coverage schedule.

2026 call closed · deadline 2025-12-23
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 fund invited young people living in Thulamela who were entering tertiary study for the first time in civil engineering, electrical engineering, town planning or information technology. It required registration on the indigent register, a Grade 12 certificate, proof of university registration, a certified South African identity document and residence confirmation from a ward councillor.

What should I do now?

The 2026 deadline has passed. Do not post the old form. Ask the municipal Youth, Speaker's or Mayor's Office whether a new cycle exists and prepare indigent-registration proof, university documentation, identity evidence and ward-confirmed residence.

Read the verified record
uMgungundlovu District residents

uMgungundlovu Tertiary Registration Assistance 2026

Assistance with initial tertiary registration fees; the municipality retained discretion over the number of awards within the available budget.

2026 call closed · deadline 2026-01-30
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 notice targeted South African citizens living in uMgungundlovu who were entering their first year at a public university or TVET college, had at least 30 admission points and household income not exceeding R350,000 a year. It required identity documents, matric results, institutional acceptance, parents' identity documents and proof of residence; SASSA grant recipients qualified to apply.

What should I do now?

The 2026 registration-fee deadline has passed. Ask the district Youth Development Office whether the programme will reopen, and keep the acceptance letter, matric results, identity documents, household evidence and local proof of residence ready for the next notice.

The municipality removed the closed 2026 advert from its live document endpoint after publication. The criteria and 30 January 2026 deadline were verified from the municipality's indexed official notice; confirm any future call directly with Youth Development.

Read the verified record
Vhembe District residents

Vhembe Executive Mayor's Bursary Fund

The 2026 application form did not state a fixed award amount or complete benefit schedule.

2026 call closed · deadline 2026-01-23
Who qualified in 2026?

The 2026 call invited disadvantaged Vhembe District matriculants and tertiary students. It required certified results or academic records, identity documents for the student and parents, an unemployment affidavit where relevant, a school-principal reference for Grade 12 applicants, and local proof of residence.

What should I do now?

Do not post the old form. Recheck the municipality's bursary documents or Executive Mayor's office before the next academic cycle.

Read the verified record

Not listed does not mean unavailable

Ask the right municipal office.

Use the official municipality site and ask for the mayoral bursary, youth-development office, skills-development office or corporate-services bursary contact. Do not pay an unofficial person and do not send identity documents to an address copied from an old social-media post.

Direct answers

Municipal bursary questions

Are municipal bursaries open all year?

No. Local and mayoral bursaries usually have short annual windows. Every record below shows its last verified deadline and must not be treated as open merely because an old form is still online.

Do I have to live in the municipality?

Usually. The verified municipal-owned records required local residence or proof of residence. Read the exact notice because ward, district, institution and household rules differ.

What if my municipality is not listed here?

It does not mean there is no support. Some sites are inaccessible, some calls are posted only briefly, and some municipalities promote external bursaries. Check the municipality's official notices and contact its mayoral, youth-development or corporate-services office.